ALCTS “Preservation Week” Webinar

04.14.11

Title: Protecting Future Access Now: Models for Preserving Digitized Books and Other Content at Cultural Heritage Organizations

Date: April 27, 2011
All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time.

Description: Over the past decade, the number of digitization projects initiated by cultural heritage organizations has risen dramatically. As these organizations take advantage of digital technologies to make their unique content broadly available, their need to understand the different ways to protect and preserve this digital content becomes increasingly important.

• What is “long term” digital preservation?
• What options are there for this particular content?
• What steps are other libraries taking to preserve their content?
• What steps are sufficient?

Working together, Portico and Cornell University Library engaged in a study funded by the NEH-IMLS Digital partnership to help the community understand the preservation needs of electronic books and other digital objects. We’ll explore these findings as well as models for digital preservation that are available to cultural heritage organizations.

Audience: Library, archive, and museum staff interested in understanding long term digital preservation of locally created content.

Presenter: Amy J. Kirchhoff, Archive Product Manager, Portico

Webinar sponsored by ITHAKA.